S&T Live Webcast: Transit of Mercury

Join in Monday, May 9th, as tiny Mercury crosses the Sun's disk for the first time since 2006. S&T's exclusive video feeds and expert interviews will air throughout the 7½-hour event.

Catch the full transit of Mercury, now on archived video feed at Livestream.com/SkyandTelescope/Mercury
2006 Mercury transit closeup

The May 9th transit of Mercury begins at 7:12 a.m. Eastern Daylight Time (11:12 Universal Time), though the first contact might vary by a few minutes depending on your location..
Fred Espenak

When the innermost planet makes its slow-motion dash across the Sun's face on Monday, May 9th, you'll be able to watch as it happens if you connect with Sky & Telescope's live webcast of the event. You'll also learn how to view the Sun safely with your telescope — even if you don't have a solar filter.

Sky & Telescope has partnered with Dexter Southfield's Clay Center Observatory, along with other video feeds from around the U.S., to showcase the entire 7½-hour-long transit. Our exclusive webcast begins at 7:00 a.m. Eastern Daylight Time (11:00 Universal Time) and continues nonstop until 3:00 p.m. EDT (19:00 UT). Here's the link:

Sky & Telescope's Transit of Mercury Webcast

<i>Sky & Telescope</i>'s Transit of Mercury webcast

Join host Kelly Beatty on Monday, May 9th, for Sky & Telescope's live webcast of the transit of Mercury.
Sky & Telescope

To enhance the experience, we've lined up one-on-one interviews with experts on the Sun and Mercury from around the country, including:

Jay M. Pasachoff, solar researcher and director of Williams College's Hopkins Observatory

Matthew Penn, associate astronomer at the U.S. National Solar Observatory

William Sheehan, science historian and co-author of In Search Of Planet Vulcan

Henry "Trae" Winter, solar physicist at the Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics

Transits of Mercury are relatively rare — this is the planet's first since 2006. So don't miss it!


Eager for more? Find out about next year's "mega transit" — the 2017 total solar eclipse. Enter your email to download your FREE guide to the eclipse that will travel from coast to coast. You'll also be subscribed to Sky & Telescope's free e-newsletter that will keep you up to date with the latest astronomy and observing news.

All comments must follow the Sky & Telescope Terms of Use and will be moderated prior to posting. Please be civil in your comments. Sky & Telescope reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter’s username, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

COMMENT