Space Shuttle Columbia Lost

Crew of STS 107
The crew of Space Shuttle mission STS 107 (from left): David M. Brown (mission specialist), Rick O. Husband (commander), Laurel Blair Salton Clark (mission specialist), Kalpana Chawla (mission specialist), Michael P. Anderson (payload commander), William C. McCool (pilot), and Ilan Ramon (mission specialist).
Courtesy NASA/Johnson Space Center.
The staff of Sky & Telescope offers its condolences to the families of the seven astronauts lost in Saturday's tragic breakup of the Space Shuttle Columbia.

NASA asks that if you find debris from the spacecraft, call the Johnson Space Center Emergency Operations Center, (281) 483-3388. Do not touch the debris as hazardous chemicals may be present. Any images of the reentry can be sent to NASA via FTP. Instructions have been provided at the Johnson Space Center website.

For the most recent information about the tragedy:



Johnson Space Center

All comments must follow the Sky & Telescope Terms of Use and will be moderated prior to posting. Please be civil in your comments. Sky & Telescope reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter’s username, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.